Skip to content

Jingle, jangle… love that bangle!

December 3, 2009

I have loved bangle bracelets since I was a teen. An armful of jingly yellow gold Monet costume bracelets and I was all set! Today my tastes are a little more refined, but I still love bangles of every shape and size.

So when my National Jeweler magazine (http://www.nationaljewelernetwork.com) came today, I was happy to see a double page spread just filled with luscious bangles in an array of styles and prices. As a bonus, many also featured colored gemstones, another one of my borderline addictions!

For me, bangles are best worn in bunches, Bollywood style, for maximum “jingle effect.” I also like to combine styles – Grandmom’s engraved yellow gold bracelet from the 1930’s with a modern, twisted sterling piece I got on my honeymoon. Throw in an enameled bangle and I’m in heaven!

National Jeweler featured a trendy ELLE croc embossed sterling piece for only $320, which I thought could easily be combined with older pieces for an instant updated look. Kir showed stackable sterling bangles with wonderful detailing,18-karat yellow gold accents, an colored gemstones like smoky, blue and white topaz for only $385 each. Or if you want to really invest, Daniel K’s pave-set yellow and pink diamond, rubyb, or multicolored sapphire stacking bangles are priced from $7,200 to $23,600.

Daniel K is definitely out of my price range, but it’s nice to dream!

Susan McNeill is a wife, mother, author, entrepreneur and social activist. In addition to Susan Said What?! Susan also writes for Style on a WHIM, It’s how you play the game!, and Success Won’t Wait!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

